Injury Report: Chara: PCL in Left Knee Permanently Torn

Boston BROin

Marchand makes u mad
Feb 29, 2008
NYC
http://www.thescore.com/news/744758

Weird, 'permanently torn' sounds pretty dire, but the article mentions he should be back to top form. Fantasy notes from sites don't paint as rosy as a picture for Chara.

Zdeno Chara said the PCL in his left knee is permanently torn.

Impacts: He suffered the injury back in October and missed 19 games with the ailment. However, it won't require further surgery and it has healed sufficiently. Chara posted just 20 points in 63 games this past campaign. The 38-year-old blueliner may not be much of a fantasy factor anymore.

This would explain much of why Chara looked so slow and awful this year. Is this an injury that can be overcome?

BruinDust

Aug 2, 2005
I'm no doctor but would this not mean he'll be playing with a knee brace on the rest of his career?

Gonzothe7thDman

Jun 24, 2007
Central, Ma
Another reason why those longer term lower cap hit deals are bad ideas. I'd rather have given Chara less years more money, and replaced Campbell and Paille with rookie ELC players to cover the cost.

But at least Chiarelli has learned not to give out long term big money contracts to undeserving players. (Not that Chara fits that category)

qc

Aug 23, 2011
7Rui5IB.gif

Fire Sweeney

Jun 16, 2009
Bergen
No one comes back to top from permanent ligament injury.

Also, this is the result of him not going through proper rehab protocol. Some people ****ed up big time trying to save their jobs.

Beaviz81

Mar 8, 2015
No one comes back to top from permanent ligament injury.

Also, this is the result of him not going through proper rehab protocol. Some people ****ed up big time trying to save their jobs.

Well if it is a low-grade injury, no reason to go through with the surgery as that can compound the problem even more just ask Marco van Basten.

Fire Sweeney

Jun 16, 2009
Bergen