Goalies: Ball Hockey

Jets

All hat, no cattle.
Sponsor
Oct 23, 2010
Winnipeg
I'm an ice hockey goalie my whole life, but I'm signed up to play on a ball hockey team this spring. It starts tomorrow night and we play one or two games a week. It's full ice hockey equipment for goalies and we play on the polished concrete under the ice. I've been researching about pads and what to do with them, but I'm a bit indecisive.

I'm thinking of buying pad covers for my pads to A) not wreck them (although it shouldnt be tooo bad on the surface) and B) be able to move/slide a little bit better.
This guy http://mitchellhockey.com has some nice custom pad covers and can put slide plates on them too. I have no experience at all as far as pad covers/slide plates go, so if anyone has any advice it would be much appreciated.

Also a secondary question is toe strings/straps. I tried wearing my pads in the gym for a little floor hockey practice last week and I just taped the strings/straps up so they wouldnt drag. But I couldn't keep the pads too straight and they kept twisting on me. I've read about people making a groove in the bottom of their shoe to run their foot anchor strap under and use with their shoes. Good idea?

PlamsUnlimited

Big Church Bells
May 14, 2010
New York
I did that. I use pad covers too because they grind away the material otherwise. But yeah ... I would take my leather straps/buckles and just tape them to the inside.

Hounsy

Dec 28, 2003
A wonderful location
Visit site
Found the smooth concrete was not much of an issue for wear myself. I bought myself some Nike Shox that had a gap between the ball and heel that I could thread the foot strap through and it worked like a charm. Enjoy the curves!

Fixed to Ruin

Come wit it now!
Feb 28, 2007
Grande Prairie, AB