Average draft positions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tap on the Ankle

Jun 9, 2004
Ottawa
Did a little number crunching and came up with the average first pick draft position of every team over the past 10 years. By that I mean the average position of a team's first pick (whether it be 1st round, 2nd, 3rd, etc.. whichever their first pick is, acquired by trade or not) in each entry draft from 1996-2005. Only their first pick though, so when the Canucks drafted 2nd and 3rd overall in 1999, I only counted their first pick in that draft, which was the 2nd overall selection.

For example, the "18.8" that LA has means that, on average, their first pick of each draft was around 18th-19th overall.

Not all teams have been around for the past 10 years, so those ones (basically the top 4 on this list) have their first draft year written in brackets. As for Carolina, they didn't start drafting as the Hurricanes until 1997, so I counted Hartford's first 1996 pick into their totals.

Some of the results are quite surprising, namely Detroit's. I could believe the number when I saw it. Pretty amazing that they've managed to snag up as many good prospects as they have while drafting so low. I mean geez, they're almost taking their first guy in the 3rd round every year.

While these numbers don't have any real significant meaning, it's interesting to see where every team stacks in terms of average drafting position.

Code:
[FONT=Courier New]CBJ      5.1 (2000)
ATL      5.7 (1999)
MIN      8.8 (2000)
NAS      9.0 (1998)
ANA      13.0
CAL      12.8
PIT      12.9
CHI      14.4
BUF      14.5
SJ       14.5
MTL      15.1
EDM      15.2
OTT      15.4
CAR      16.4
VAN      17.5
FLA      17.7
LA       18.8
NYR      18.9
NYI      19.1
WAS      19.8
PHO      23.1
TB       23.6
BOS      23.9
NJ       25.4
DAL      26.7
PHI      28.0
STL      30.1
COL      31.1
TOR      36.0
DET      54.9[/FONT]

Transported Upstater