Prospect Info: 2017 OHL Prospects Review

Brock

Feb 27, 2002
The GTA
ohlprospects.blogspot.com
Thanks.
Could you get more into why you rank Gordeev over Middleton? Is it just based on offensive potential?

Offensive potential to a certain degree, but more has to do with his skating advantage over Middleton.

Offensively right now, I think that they are relatively equal players in terms of ability. Gordeev has a big point shot but hasn't quite figured out how to use it yet. Middleton has some decent vision as a passer, but he's never developed the confidence (or the skating ability) to become a good puck rusher.

But in terms of projecting them as a pro, I think Gordeev could project a tad bit better because he's very agile for a big man. His defensive IQ isn't as good as Middleton's right now, but that's not to say that it couldn't get there.

Two prospects who are very close, but Gordeev gets the slight edge because I think I see his game translating a bit better to the pro level eventually.

saltming

Fan Addict
Oct 6, 2015
Other
Offensive potential to a certain degree, but more has to do with his skating advantage over Middleton.

Offensively right now, I think that they are relatively equal players in terms of ability. Gordeev has a big point shot but hasn't quite figured out how to use it yet. Middleton has some decent vision as a passer, but he's never developed the confidence (or the skating ability) to become a good puck rusher.

But in terms of projecting them as a pro, I think Gordeev could project a tad bit better because he's very agile for a big man. His defensive IQ isn't as good as Middleton's right now, but that's not to say that it couldn't get there.

Two prospects who are very close, but Gordeev gets the slight edge because I think I see his game translating a bit better to the pro level eventually.