Socks or No Socks

Status
Not open for further replies.

john g

Mar 6, 2002
Korbi
Always seems to be a mix, when I look around the locker room.

I personally have never worn socks with my skates. Besides being habit, I find that I can squeeze into a half size smaller skates without them, and to me the smaller skates I have, the better I skate.

That being said - what is your preference?

Habsfan 32

Aug 18, 2004
Way up north...
I put socks on. I've always played with socks so I guess I won't change since it's a habit for me. I have been using the same pair of socks for the last 2 years and I washed them twice since the begining of the year so they smell pretty awful.

Icer

Oct 15, 2004
I use socks to wick away moisture. Otherwise my skates would weigh about 50 lbs each from all the extra sweat. My skates smell better too.

f1nn

Jan 12, 2004
Espoo, Finland
I couldn't stand not wearing socks! it would feel so wierd....

like 6 years ago i played on house just for sh!ts and giggles and there was a kid on my team who was seriously about 80 pounds overweight... he couldn't even move on the ice... he had to wear his skates barefoot bc his feet were so fat

futurcorerock

Nov 15, 2003
Columbus, OH
If sock thickness is an issue, I highly suggest a pair of either UnderArmour or CCM Oxysox. They are extremely thin, so they simulate the sockless approach, as well as promoting circulation in your foot.

like Finn's example (though not 80lbs overweight)... my feet are incredibly big, so having those socks is a lifesaver when I have to accomodate for not only my foot's size (wide... oh so wide) but also orthotic inserts to correct my arches.

CoupeStanley

Dec 1, 2003
Nicolet
coupestanley.com
Socks for me...

Couldn't imagine playing pond hockey in Quebec without sock... wouldnt feel my feet from 10 minutes on..

I started skating at 5.. my mother wouldnt let me play without socks.. Guess I got the habit from there, heh!

Cheers,
Matt

futurcorerock

Nov 15, 2003
Columbus, OH