Seattle Expansion

MCassel

Nov 29, 2017
As a WA resident, I'm super excited to see a pro team potentially come here, I've always felt Key Arena would be better suited as an NHL building once it was re-done.

Plus now it wouldn't require the plane ticket, hotel, and uber ride to go see my Knights!

BattleBorn

50% to winning as many division titles as Toronto
Feb 6, 2015
Bellevue, WA
Seattle is still a few years out, there's no real integration issues that I can see. We're talking about it on the Business of Hockey board if you guys want to get pretty deep on the topic.

I was a huge NHL to Seattle supporter back when I thought Las Vegas wasn't realistic.

LadyStanley

Sep 22, 2004
Sin City
IIRC, VGK was promised that an expansion team within 3 years would exclude expansion draft selection of player from them. So, the only immediate impact could be travel changes.

Reactions: Puckrobber

Puckrobber

Backup Netminder
Feb 28, 2016
Central Oklahoma
As a resident of Washington for 43 of my 46 years, I've been hoping for an NHL team forever. I'd prefer an expansion team, so, no other hockey fans have to lose theirs. But, if one moved to Seattle, I wouldn't complain.

2020 sounds like the right time for one to appear. Gives the locals time to brush up on their hockey knowledge.

willy702

Jul 3, 2016
Look at the attendance here and you might find a team that could move:

2017-2018 NHL Attendance - National Hockey League - ESPN

I doubt there will be an expansion team in the next few years, however. The VGK team needs to be fully integrated, first.

I can think of 650 million reasons you will be proven wrong. This is happening in 2020, almost no doubt about it. Even if Seattle blew up they would award it to Houston. NHL owners are already pocketing that money and thinking that's their insurance against a prolonged lockout.

derriko

Mar 7, 2009
Las Vegas
Man, even more conflicts of interest for me. Is it acceptable to have 3 favorite teams?