Programming Thread

waffledave

waffledave, from hf
Aug 22, 2004
Montreal
I noticed there doesn't seem to be an active thread about general programming here so I figured I'd start one.

Anyone here into programming, as a hobby or professionally?

I currently work as a Java developer, but I am pretty comfortable in most OOP (or OOP supported/C style) languages, as well as some other paradigms too.

I also have worked in game development and graphics.

It might be fun to talk about it here, maybe do some coding challenges or reviews or something to help out people who are interested in learning or practicing.

KingBran

Three Eyed Raven
Apr 24, 2014
Professionally here.

Though I don't do it as much anymore. Got into other things at my company. Was a C++ guru and worked for a video game company out of college. Now I do other things.

But currently I have been really getting into Powershell and I script pretty much everything now lol, It's a lot of fun!

waffledave

waffledave, from hf
Aug 22, 2004
Montreal
But currently I have been really getting into Powershell and I script pretty much everything now lol, It's a lot of fun!

I am pretty ashamed to say that I never really got comfortable with anything command-line related. My friends are all gurus when it comes to this stuff but I never really learned much about it, since all my work was always done using big IDE type things.

KingBran

Three Eyed Raven
Apr 24, 2014
I am pretty ashamed to say that I never really got comfortable with anything command-line related. My friends are all gurus when it comes to this stuff but I never really learned much about it, since all my work was always done using big IDE type things.
Oh I hardly command-line program. I use ISE for Powershell and write actual scripts. I don't do well with on the fly command-line programming. Heck, I have enough trouble navigating a Linux box lol.

I never did much with java but it's pretty huge in today's world. I mean you can get a job almost anywhere.