Practice to game ratio

Status
Not open for further replies.

DaveyCrockett

Dec 8, 2003
Toronto
Visit site
What is a good ratio of practices to games? For me, a practice is an hour session at stick and puck (just shooting, skating, and passing;no actual games) and a game is 90-120 min of shinny. Assuming I play about 5-6 days a week and am a complete beginner with little skill (just started playing last December), what is a good ratio of stick and puck sessions to shinny? In stick and puck I can really only work on skills (skating, passing, shooting) but in games I can work on learning how to play (positioning, defensive techniques, etc.).
I can also get free 1 v 1 lessons from a good friend so I can probably replace 1-2 practices a week with that.

canadahockeygirl*

Depends on how good you want to get and what type of beginner you are.

As a goalie, I take one team practice a week with women and three pickup games against men at local rinks. I've been playing goalie since I was about 15 and I'm not going to be playing any big games or impressing scouts any time soon, so I don't really work on my skills and pretty much play because it's fun... especially against guys that absolutely school me.

As a forward, I have 4 practices a week with 5 coaches (varies between 1-3 hours a practice) and one to two intercollegiate games with refs. I just started playing out a few weeks ago, but I feel like the drills that we do are good for getting me in shape and good for teaching me the game.

DaveyCrockett

Dec 8, 2003
Toronto
Visit site
canadahockeygirl said:
Depends on how good you want to get and what type of beginner you are.