My first Ever Mock

Holden Caulfield

Eternal Skeptic
Feb 15, 2006
Winnipeg
This is my first attempt and all too often i haven't seen these players enough but im going to take a try.

1. St. Louis: D Erik Johnson
Big Pronger-esque defenseman to begin the rebuilding era for the Blues.

2. Pittsburgh: C/LW Phil Kessel
Considered more complete player in Toews, but felt that Kessel will adapt better to playing wing. Crosby/Malkin to Kessel will be a combo often heard in Pittsburgh (or Kansas City :shakehead ) in the near future.

3. Chicago: C Jonathan Toews
IMO, clear cut number 3 in this draft. A more talented Brad Richards, not only does Toews have great skills, but is solid defensively and a great leader.

4. Washington: C Nicklas Backstrom
Slick skating center Backstrom will fit in nicely in between Ovechkin and Zubrus. He is the most NHL prospect in the draft, and has a chance to make the NHL next year with the Capitals.

5. Boston: C Jordan Staal
Surprised that the raw talent of Staal slipped to them at #5, since STL was looking at them at #1. Glad to add Staal as a future #1 center with Bergeron on the wing.

6. Columbus: C Peter Mueller
Columbus loves to take CHL guys, and Mueller is a very solid pick for them. Brule is projected to be #1 there, but Mueller can be a solid #2 guy. Big size, good shot, good vision, will make a VERY good second line C.

7. New York I: C Derek Brassard
NYI get a true scoring center to add to the checking C's they already have. Brassard to Tambellini might be heard quite a few times out on Long Island in the next few years

8. Phoenix: RW Kyle Okposo
Rapidly rising Okposo will be a nice fit in Phoenix's future,, although i would not be surprised if PHO goes off the board. Okposo is solid sniper, plsu will have lots of time to develop in the NCAA.

9. Minnesota: RW Chris Stewart