Missing Assist?

Discussion in 'International Tournaments' started by FearTheFlyers, May 1, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FearTheFlyers

    FearTheFlyers Registered User

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Home Page:
    On Joe Thornton's Powerplay Goal the official boxscore says it was assisted form Rick Nash.

    But, if you remember that play, Nash made that great effort to get the puck to Gagne, who then sent it cross crease for Thornton, who scored on his second whack.

    Now it may seem that i'm quibbling over unimportant matters, but surely Simon should have got an assist on that goal, no?
     
  2. Macman

    Macman Registered User

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,222
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Stuff like that happens all the time in international hockey and the official scoring is rarely changed, for some reason.
     
  3. korben*

    korben* Guest

    Only one assist may be awarded when a player scores after a rebound off of the goalkeeper. IIHF rulebook, page 48

    Also in IIHF Pool A, assists shall be determined by the scorekeeper. IIHF rulebook, page 109. :dunno:

    Whole 128 page rulebook --> http://www.iihf.com/pdfRules/IIHFRuleBookeng.pdf
     
  4. BigE

    BigE Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    4,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    94
    Location:
    New York, NY
    As Macman added above, the International game is very stingy with their second assists. It really has to be clear and obvious, unfortunately.
     
  5. Habs4Life

    Habs4Life Registered User

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    2,113
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Saint John, NB
    On the positive side.. They do have some very good rules. IE: No red line!
     
  6. wilka91*

    wilka91* Registered User

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    4,251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The same happened with Yashin today. He passed to Kovalchuk > rebound, Kozlov scored. Yashin : 0 points.

    But who cares? Everyone who watched the game knows that he made a key play that led to the tying goal.
     
  7. time

    time Registered User

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What about Nash's first goal? Clean pass from Jovo and it was scored unassisted!
     
  8. Taylor168

    Taylor168 Registered User

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    international hockey has some dumb rules, which watchin the Sweden/Denmark game today Pierre McGuire said players are not allowed to kick the puck or use their feet in international hockey in the faceoff
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

monitoring_string = "358c248ada348a047a4b9bb27a146148"