Kids Burnout

Free Probie

Mar 29, 2006
your mamas house
My 7 year old has played for 3 years. This year he wanted to play spring as well as go to a 2 week summer camp. This season he is playing on a new team and has talked about not playing next year. I have encouraged him to stick with it and take the spring and summer off before making a drastic decision. Anyone else ever experience a situation like this?

I am an asst coach and wonder if I back off completely if it would help or hurt the situation.

Any Ideas?:dunno:

mac-sniper

Aug 25, 2006
probies free, i live not too far from him. plays in a league on a dif night than me. dangler

2x4*

I quit baseball at about the same age and started hockey 2 years later. I dont know how that helps at all, but meh. :confused:

EmptyNetter

Jun 22, 2006
North Shore, MA
My 7 year old has played for 3 years. This year he wanted to play spring as well as go to a 2 week summer camp. This season he is playing on a new team and has talked about not playing next year. I have encouraged him to stick with it and take the spring and summer off before making a drastic decision. Anyone else ever experience a situation like this?

I am an asst coach and wonder if I back off completely if it would help or hurt the situation.

I don't have kids so take this for what it's worth. It might not be hockey as much as fitting in with a new bunch of kids. At that age he'd probably do anything if involved hanging out with his friends. It could always be a conflict with his coach or maybe he's stuck on a particular skill and is getting frustrated. Bottom line is, when hockey stops being fun he's going to look to quit. This may call for some ice cream and a father-son chat to see if anything's bothering him. ;)

Good luck