Goal that was counted despite obvious video replay

Discussion in 'The History of Hockey' started by Big Phil, Apr 19, 2007.

  1. Big Phil

    Big Phil Registered User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    26,992
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    154
    Okay I'm sorry I dont have a youtube for this one but a lot of you will remember this goal. Go back to 1993-94 and its Chicago vs. Winnipeg. In overtime I think its Nelson Emerson that grabs a poor clearing attempt from Belfour and with his hand literally takes the puck and wraps it around the post and in. This is all done with the puck in his hand. They counted it! Its' on Don Cherry's Rock Em Sock Em #6.

    They had video replay back then. Can someone explain to me the story of how that goal counted? He literally threw the puck into the net, it is SO obvious on the replay its not even funny - well okay a little bit. Anyways how did that count?
     
  2. Mr BLUEandWHITE

    Mr BLUEandWHITE Registered User

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3,241
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    Incompetence?

    That's my guess I remember watching that on Rock 'em Sock 'em, and I remember the Hawks freakin out at the end of the game, can you blame them? We have to remember too that Chicago got 0 points back then because they lost. Unlike today. :shakehead

    Could you imagine the laughter in the Winnipeg dressing room, I could just imagine what the heck they were saying in the showers.

    Emerson "HOLY **** I cannot belive they counted that **** LOL"
     
  3. McRpro

    McRpro Call the rulebook!

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    6,004
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    125
    Location:
    Back in Ontario
    Yup I remember watching the highlights when that happened. The Hawks that were on the ice went ballistic when they counted that after review. It was quite simply, a disgrace.
     
  4. Wachovia Center

    Wachovia Center Registered User

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    *waiting for Sabres fans*
     
  5. MS

    MS Registered User

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    24,457
    Likes Received:
    3,060
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    I remember that goal well, too.

    It counted because 'puck directed in by a hand' wasn't one of the criteria for which they could go to video replay at the time (same as they can't review a blown offside call on a goal now). Even though the replay clearly showed the goal was illegal, there was no means by which they could overturn it. That rule was changed at the next GM meeting.

    __________

    Another blown review call I remember pretty well involved the Jets, too. April 29, 1993, Game 5 between Winnipeg and Vancouver. Faceoff in the Jets' zone with 1.7 seconds left, and Sergio Momesso somehow scores a miracle goal. Problem is, the game clock is only burned into one replay angle, and that angle is inconclusive. However, by looking at the position of the players when the puck crossed the line on other replays and comparing them, it was plainly obvious there was 0.5-0.7 seconds left when the goal was scored. Somehow they disallowed it ... I don't think I've ever been angrier than that at a blown call, although thankfully the Canucks won in overtime.
     
  6. Fish on The Sand

    Fish on The Sand Untouchable

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    61,356
    Likes Received:
    794
    Trophy Points:
    214
    Location:
    Nanaimo
    Home Page:
    what about Leclair's goal through the side of the net?
     
  7. Meichel Kane

    Meichel Kane My Name Is

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    10,821
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Why? This has nothing to do with No Goals 1-682.
     
  8. seventieslord

    seventieslord Student Of The Game

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    31,585
    Likes Received:
    252
    Trophy Points:
    154
    Location:
    Regina, SK
    I saw this on Don Cherry 6 too. It's unbelieveable. One of the most bizarre plays of my lifetime.

    The Steve Sullivan/Colorado fan incident is damn funny too though! :D
     
  9. ilovehockey

    ilovehockey Registered User

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    64
    Brett Hull's GWG to win the Stanley Cup
     

Share This Page

monitoring_string = "358c248ada348a047a4b9bb27a146148"