FGC Discussion Thread

The Noot

scaldin ur d00dz
Apr 12, 2012
Zurich
Now that the EVO 2018 lineup has been published, I think it's time we actually start a thread on the FGC and its competitive scene.

The big storylines:
- MvCI got snubbed and will NOT be a major event at EVO 2018, so no "when's mahvel" for the first time since 2000. Another slap in the face for MvCI after losing its spot on the Capcom Pro Tour.
- Melee not only refuses to die (Suck it, rest of the FGC!), but even receives a Sunday spot for its finals. Gotta get that ad revenue somehow.
- Dragon Ball FighterZ wins over everyone's heart, immediately being a major event and even receiving a Sunday spot.
- BlazBlue: Cross Tag Battle isn't even released yet and already has a spot as a major title (again, over MvCI).

In other words:

3 anime fighters, 2 Smash Bros titles, hell has frozen over.

What are your thoughts?

Last edited:

KingBran

Three Eyed Raven
Apr 24, 2014
I guess I am a noob... what's FGC? I did google it and I don't think Florida Gateway College is what is being talked about here. :laugh:

Looks like a fighting game tournament... or... Fighting Game Championship? How does it work? Who is involved? And where is Mortal Kombat X?

I was pretty damn good with MK9 and MKX. Kitana is my best player.

The Noot

scaldin ur d00dz
Apr 12, 2012
Zurich
I guess I am a noob... what's FGC? I did google it and I don't think Florida Gateway College is what is being talked about here. :laugh:

Looks like a fighting game tournament... or... Fighting Game Championship? How does it work? Who is involved? And where is Mortal Kombat X?

I was pretty damn good with MK9 and MKX. Kitana is my best player.