ECHL expanding to Bloomington, IL in 2024-25

No Fun Shogun

34-38-61-10-13-15
May 1, 2011
Illinois
I’m a Bloomington-Normal resident, so here’s the general breakdown.

Bloomington has a history of minor and junior hockey, having previously hosted a couple even lower tier minor league hockey teams and a USHL team over the past fifteen-ish years. However, as an admitted drawback, none of the teams lasted very long.

Bloomington is a pretty passionate college sports town. I know that most don’t care about FCS football, and from my avatar I’m clearly an FBS guy, but Illinois State is part of the Missouri Valley Conference, which is pretty easily the best supported FCS conference out there. ISU draws pretty darn well, so there is an appetite for sports here. The question to be asked is if there is support for a non-ISU team, which has yet to be proven. The baseball Normal Cornbelters have dropped several league levels to lower costs for a reason, but are otherwise the only other game in town that have survived more than a few years.

There is a viable arena here. Grossinger Motors Arena is fine - not great, but not close to bad, either. Seats about 7,000 for hockey, so plenty large to have big crowds to generate revenue. But it can also feel cavernous when it only has a thousand or so or less people, too.

Ownership is headed by the Indy Fuel owners, and that team draws very well. Granted, Indianapolis is also much, much larger than B-N. But at the very least they seem competent.

The area is home to State Farm, Country Financial, and Beer Nuts and a Rivian and (soon) Ferrero Foods plants, so hopefully more than a few corporate partners.