Danault traded in the QMJHL to Moncton

Sevanston

Dec 27, 2009
NYC
Moncton looks like a better team this year. Seems this would only be good for Danault's development.

Sucks for him though. I know he loved Victoriaville.

EbonyRaptor

Jul 10, 2009
Geezerville
hmmm ... hopefully it's just Victoriaville making this move for future improvement - essentially writing off this season. The fact that Danault was captain should indicate this trade wasn't made for personality issues, I hope.

Sevanston

Dec 27, 2009
NYC
Moncton traded Gabriel Gagne, 2 first round picks (2014, 2015), and a 2015 second for just Danault.

Sevanston

Dec 27, 2009
NYC
Dunno much about the Q, but that seems like a great return.

I'm in the same boat as you. Been trying to find out more.

Today is the trade deadline in the Q. Victoriaville is in 12th place, so they decided to punch the rebuild button and trade their captain and hometown hero. Moncton is loading up for a playoff run.

I'm no expert on the Q, but that all sounds like it can only be positive for Danault's development.

DayNah

Ship it donk!
Feb 11, 2010
Moncton sold the farm for this kid. I know there's a lot of talk as to what Saint John is going to do with Hubredeau, cause SJ would get a huge pay day. Teams are reluctant though cause he may jump to the NHL in a month or whatever.

From what i understand he(Danault) can only stay in junior or go straight to the NHL(no Rockford). I can't see him getting called up this year.

HockeySauce

Jan 26, 2011
It was widely speculated that Danault would be traded. I thought, and hoped, that Halifax would trade for him, but Moncton's not a bad team. This is Danault's last junior season and no, he cannot play in the AHL until the end of his Junior team's season. If the Hawks bring him in for training camp and he makes the team, then that's a different story. Don't see that happening though, not this year at least.

DayNah

Ship it donk!
Feb 11, 2010