Am I the only one not excited by the 2004 draft?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mizral

Sep 20, 2002
Earth, MW
Visit site
I don't know, just doesn't seem to have as much substance as last year, nor as much flash & dash as 2002 or 2001.

Obviously there are great players. Ovechkin could be a top 3 draft pick in any draft year. Guys like Olezs and Barker are probobly top 10 guys most years. But the draft, in my mind, seems to be lacking two things:

#1 - Big-time top 10 talent after the first 3 or 4 guys

And,

#2 - Depth beyond the #15 spot (or so)

I'm not a professional scout, and perhaps some scouts think this draft is underrated and I've got it all wrong. But this upcoming draft, outside of Ovechkin and a couple others, just doesn't get me all that excited. Am I alone on this one?

Beatnik

Sep 2, 2002
Québec
Visit site
Mizral said:
I don't know, just doesn't seem to have as much substance as last year, nor as much flash & dash as 2002 or 2001.

Obviously there are great players. Ovechkin could be a top 3 draft pick in any draft year. Guys like Olezs and Barker are probobly top 10 guys most years. But the draft, in my mind, seems to be lacking two things:

#1 - Big-time top 10 talent after the first 3 or 4 guys

And,

#2 - Depth beyond the #15 spot (or so)

I'm not a professional scout, and perhaps some scouts think this draft is underrated and I've got it all wrong. But this upcoming draft, outside of Ovechkin and a couple others, just doesn't get me all that excited. Am I alone on this one?

It seems a bad years for Canadian but if guys like Malkin and Tukonen show good things at the WJC it could become more interesting.

The big problems with this draft is that 2005 players are already as good as 2004's ones in Canada and most of the posters here are Canadians. Also top prospect like Schremp and Maillot did'nt improve much. Last years was a specially deep draft it also make 2004 looks weaker.

Mike8

Jun 24, 2002
Visit site